To be eligible to receive a scholarship, applicants must…

  • Currently be employed as a full time teacher in a public school district in Hamilton County
  • Demonstrate commitment to education in public schools
  • Currently be enrolled in the Masters Degree Program in Special Education at University of Cincinnati, Xavier University, or intend to enroll in one of these programs for the summer or fall quarters.

If the nominee for the scholarship is not currently enrolled in a Special Education Program at the University of Cincinnati or Xavier University, the nominee must meet the criteria and be accepted during the academic year following the award.

The scholarship recipients will be notified by May 1 and must attend the “Celebrate Excellence” breakfast at the Sharonville Convention Center to be held on Friday, May 12, 2017.

For additional information about the Masters Degree in Special Education at the University of Cincinnati, contact Dr. Regina Sapona, Associate Dean of Academic Affairs, 513-556-2327 or email

For additional information about the Masters Degree in Education at Xavier University, contact Dr. Sharon Merrill, Director of Special Education, 513-745-1078 or email

For more information about the HCEF Scholarship Award, contact:

Karen Muse, 513.674.4224,

Tracy Mielke, 513-674-4251,